Insurance Programs

The University of Alberta has a comprehensive insurance program to protect all members of the University community, all sanctioned activities of the University and all University property as an institution. 

The University of Alberta has been a member of Canadian Universities Reciprocal Insurance Exchange (CURIE) since April 1993. CURIE is a reciprocal insurance exchange whose 58 member universities from across Canada share losses arising from their operating risks. These risks include physical damage to assets, injuries or property damage in respect of third parties and liability for errors and omissions. 


The Office of Insurance & Risk Assessment administers the U of A insurance program through CURIE and through other insurance providers. The office also administers all claims processed under the insurance policies for the University.  All losses and/or incidents/accidents should be immediately reported to Protective Services (UAPS) which works closely with our Office.  UAPS provides details to Insurance & Risk Assessment on the losses and/or incidents/accidents to assist with the processing of claims. 

Please contact Human Resources and/or Students' Union regarding the following insurance programs as these are not managed by the Office of Insurance & Risk Assessment:

  • WCB (Workers Compensation)
  • Extended Health & Dental Benefits
  • Student Group insurance through the Students’ Union Policy
  • Individual Student Group Insurance
  • Student Health Insurance